top of page
Géraldine Auret

BIOGRAPHY

A woman of the South, Géraldine Auret lives and works in Montpellier. Her precocious artistic sensibility, expressed at the age of 17 with her first exhibitions, led her for a time to envisage a career in the arts. Her choices led her to embark on a long course of study in economics...

She never stopped painting and exhibiting, then put her exhibitions on hold to create two businesses and her most beautiful work: her family. After a rich and busy professional career, she now devotes herself to her artistic creation with her "Collections G.".

Self-taught, inspired in her early years by Picasso, Matisse and Viallat, she was influenced, even fascinated, by Japanese prints, starting out with a pen and working on the finesse of the line, the flowers, the motifs of her silky dresses and the contours of the shapes...

She has retained certain aesthetic principles: the simplification of forms, a taste for sinuous lines, the abandonment of perspective and a love of bright colors.

 

Her paintings reflect her spirituality, her emotions and her strong love of life.

Starting with a drawing of a sensual nude woman from the back, I simplified the line to the extreme to leave room for the imagination, freeing myself from shapes, shadows and perspective. The form represents such a strong emotion that it stands on its own.

The G is a woman, whoever she is, accomplished, fulfilled and free. She lives life to the full, in harmony with what she does, who she is, and what she creates... The Gs represent intense femininity and sensuality.

The movements, the zooms, the pure, strong colors exalt the motif and give it a posture, a meaning, a true nature.

There is no conclusion to the creation of G., but the possibility of an original repetition, incredibly different and infinite on each canvas. My recent travels around the world have made me discover and rediscover the color blue and the waves have led me to these movements which are today the fruit of my research and my work by associating my G.

I want the G. to be a gateway to the imagination, to dreaming about this form, and for repetition and color to amplify that imagination.

To see the work in infinite time and space, without constraints, without being able to grasp the beginning or the end.

Each identical G. is nonetheless unique, has a posture, a meaning, an original emotion... it lives to bring happiness to those who look at it.

artistic
process

Positive & supportive approach

Every year, I participate in several auctions in favour of charities working with sick children. A percentage of all sales is also donated to these associations. 

 

Since January 2023, Co-founder and Vice-President of the MESDAMES artists' collective.

This collective brings together enterprising artists in the service of an ambitious project to be more visible on the national and international contemporary art scene.

bottom of page

top of page
Géraldine Auret

biographie

Femme du sud, Géraldine Auret vit et travaille à Montpellier. Une précoce sensibilité artistique qu’elle exprime dès l’âge de 17 ans avec ses premières expositions, lui fait un temps envisager une carrière artistique. Ses choix l’amènent à s’engager dans un cursus long d’études en sciences économiques...

Elle ne cesse jamais de peindre et d’exposer, puis met ses expositions en pause pour créer deux entreprises et sa plus belle œuvre : sa famille. Après un parcours professionnel riche et dense, elle se consacre aujourd’hui à sa création artistique avec ses « Collections G.».

Autodidacte, inspirée à ses débuts par Picasso, Matisse, Viallat ou Buren dans leur principe de répétition. Elle a été également influencée voire fascinée, par les estampes japonaises, démarrant à la plume et travaillant sur la finesse du trait, les fleurs, les motifs de ses robes soyeuses et le contour des formes...

Elle en a conservé certains principes esthétiques : la simplification des formes, le goût de la ligne sinueuse, l’abandon de la perspective ainsi que l’amour des couleurs vives.

Sa peinture est la traduction de sa spiritualité, de ses émotions et de son amour haut et fort de la vie.

​Partie d’un dessin d'une femme de dos nue et sensuelle, j’ai simplifié la ligne à l’extrême pour laisser une part à l’imagination en m’affranchissant des formes, des ombres et des perspectives. 

 

La G est une femme quelle qu'elle soit, accomplie, épanouie et libre. Elle vit pleinement, en harmonie avec ce qu'elle fait, ce qu'elle est, et ce qu'elle crée... Les G. représentent une féminité et une sensualité intenses.

 

Les mouvements, les zooms, les couleurs pures et fortes exaltent le motif et lui donnent une posture, un sens, une véritable nature. Mes récents voyages à travers le monde m'ont fait découvrir, redécouvrîr la couleur bleu et les vagues m'ont amenées à ces mouvements qui sont aujourd'hui le fruit de mes recherches et de mon travail en y associant ma G.

Il n’y a pas de conclusion à la création des G., mais la possibilité d’une répétition originale, incroyablement différente et infinie sur chaque toile.

Appréhender l’œuvre dans le temps et l’espace à l’infini sans contraintes, sans pouvoir en saisir le commencement ou la fin.

Chaque G. identique est pourtant unique, a une posture, un sens, une émotion originale…elle vit pour apporter du bonheur à ceux et celles qui la regardent.

Démarche artistique

Démarche positive & solidaire

Chaque année, je participe à plusieurs ventes aux enchères en faveur d'associations caritatives oeuvrant notamment auprès d’enfants malades. Un pourcentage de toutes les ventes est également reversé auprès de ces associations. 

Depuis Janvier 2023, Co-fondatrice et Vice-Présidente du Collectif d'artistes MESDAMES.

Ce collectif réunit des artistes entreprenantes au service d'un projet ambitieux pour être plus visibles sur la scène nationale et internationale de l'art contemporain.

bottom of page